2016 Zambian Music Awards Nominees List


After months of intense preparation and voting, Zambia’s most prominent hit-makers have finally been revealed.

Chef 187, Jay Rox and Afunika will battle it out for the coveted title of Best Male Artist, while the Best Female Artist title will be selected from Kan2, Cleo Ice Queen and Chileshe Bwalya.

Amfumu by Mutende Culture Ensemble, I am Lenshina By Mumba Yachi and Nshakalekeleko By Medoreen Besa are the nominees for Best Live Recording Album Award.

The shortlist was drawn up by the Zambia Adjudicators Panel following a record number of nominations from fans. It is now up to the public to vote for their favorites from the three nominations in each category.

The Complete Nominees List is as follows:

-Best Live Recording Album
Amfumu By Mutende Culture Ensemble
I am Lenshina By Mumba Yachi
Nshakalekeleko By Medoreen Besa

– Best Lead Guitarist
David Andish
Israel Kaputula
Emmanuel Siame

– Best Bass Guitarist
Jerry Fingers (Jericho Banda)
David Kasochi
Nzovuwa Chambaka

– Best Keyword Player
Lazarous Zulu
Mapalo Mapalo
Jones Samalama

– Best Drummer
Smith Phiri
Eston Mwape
Kasonde Sunkutu

– Best Song Writer
Petersen Zagaze
Chef 187

– Best Music Studio Producer
Tonny Breezy
Killa Beats ‘KB’
DJ Mzenga Man

– Best Dancehall / RnB Album
Outside the Rox By Jay Rox
Ama-Rulah 1712 By Roberto
King Solomon By Petersen Zagaze

– Best Hip Hop / Rap Album
B. East By Bobby East
Best Before Forever By K.R.Y.T.I.C.
Black na White By Slap Dee (Nullified)

– Best Traditional/ Kalindula Album
Anfumu By Mutende Culture Ensemble
Walakotela Pang’anda By Voice of Luapula
Salary By Angela Nyirenda

– Best Album
Outside the Rox By Jay Rox
Black na white By Slap Dee (Nullified)
King Solomon By Petersen Zagaze

– Best Female Artist
Cleo Ice Queen
Chileshe Bwalya

– Best Male Artist
Chef 187
Jay Rox

– Best Female Radio DJ
Linzie – Radio 4 FM ZNBC
Chi Chi B – Komboni Radio
Abby Lupupa – Power FM

– Best Male Radio DJ
Showstar – Hone FM
Big Al – Sun FM
Caristo Clear – QFM

– Best New Artist

– Mosi Lager Song of the Year
Ama-Rulah By Roberto
Dorika By Chims K
Shonongo By Chester

– Lifetime Achievement Award
Announced on the day of the award ceremony

Vote here